How to take a simple texture shot from a smart phone to create an interesting design element.
iMac Text
1. Type some text. I used: TG using the font "Lucida console" the font color doesnt matter so just pick one.

2. Now go to Blending Options (Right-click on text layer).
Select (and modify) the following:
Dropshadow, color to #4B6B95
Innershadow, color to #304B98
Outerglow, color to #44CAFE
Innerglow, color to #314E9A
Bevel and emboss
Contour, now just double click on the little box and you'll see something like this:

3. Create 2 more points to have a total of 4 points and give them the following input-output values:
point 1: input: 0% output: 0%
point 2: input: 27% output: 4%
point 3: input: 59% output: 56%
point 4: input: 100% output: 99%
You'll see something like this:

4. Select satin, change the color to #60ACFF and change the contour to "ring".
And finally select color overlay and change the color to #B7E1F7.
2. Now go to Blending Options (Right-click on text layer).
Select (and modify) the following:
Dropshadow, color to #4B6B95
Innershadow, color to #304B98
Outerglow, color to #44CAFE
Innerglow, color to #314E9A
Bevel and emboss
Contour, now just double click on the little box and you'll see something like this:
3. Create 2 more points to have a total of 4 points and give them the following input-output values:
point 1: input: 0% output: 0%
point 2: input: 27% output: 4%
point 3: input: 59% output: 56%
point 4: input: 100% output: 99%
You'll see something like this:
4. Select satin, change the color to #60ACFF and change the contour to "ring".
And finally select color overlay and change the color to #B7E1F7.
Exploding Text
This tutorial will teach you how to make text explode with light.
Create a new document in your copy of Photoshop.
Settings :

Now type some text with your pen tool
Use 48 pt, color black, the font is your choice.
The longer the text line, the more blur you will have to do. To keep it simple type in the word TutorialMan with caps and lower case.

Now we are going to rasterize our text layer. Right click on your text layer and select Rasterize. Your text layers will now switch from vector to pixel.
We're going to add a new layer now. Right click on the text layer you just rasterized and select Duplicate Layer
Select the new layer on your layer panel as your current editing layer.
Set your foreground color to white and click Edit > Fill.
Setting :

Now we are going to Blur your pixels: Select the menu Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur.
Setting: 5.2
Changing your coordinate scale actually interprets that your pixel points have been in a
polar graph and regraphs them in a rectangular graph which is the normal graph most are familiar with. (if you took advvanced math in hs you may remember the polar graph) What we are doing is changing the way the pixels are oriented, applying an effect to them in that new state, then will change the graphing method back.
Select Filter > Distort > Polar Coordinates.
Setting : Polar to Rectangular
Rotate your canvas to get your wind to orient correctly. Image > Rotate Canvas > 90 CW
Apply a wind to your active layer. Filter > Stylize > Wind.
Settings :

A little break in between. Your project should look something like this.

Apply wind a second time. Filter > Stylize > Wind
Adust the levelsby clicking Image > Adjust > Auto Levels
Click Image >Adjust >Invert
Apply wind a third time. Filter > Stylize > Wind
Apply wind a fourth and last time. Filter > Stylize > Wind
Rotate your canvas back to normal by clicking Image > Rotate Canvas > 90 CCW
Change your coordinates back by clicking Filter > Distort > Polar Coordinates.
Setting : Rectangular to Polar
On the layer panel Set Layer Mode to Hard Light.
Now it is time to colorize your image. Click Image > Adjust > Hue/Saturation.
Be sure to :
Check the "Colorize" checkbox and play with the settings of
Set saturations up to the top
Select the Hue of choice
set your saturation down to the level you want .
And you should get something like this
Create a new document in your copy of Photoshop.
Settings :
Now type some text with your pen tool
Use 48 pt, color black, the font is your choice.
The longer the text line, the more blur you will have to do. To keep it simple type in the word TutorialMan with caps and lower case.
Now we are going to rasterize our text layer. Right click on your text layer and select Rasterize. Your text layers will now switch from vector to pixel.
We're going to add a new layer now. Right click on the text layer you just rasterized and select Duplicate Layer
Select the new layer on your layer panel as your current editing layer.
Set your foreground color to white and click Edit > Fill.
Setting :
Now we are going to Blur your pixels: Select the menu Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur.
Setting: 5.2
Changing your coordinate scale actually interprets that your pixel points have been in a
polar graph and regraphs them in a rectangular graph which is the normal graph most are familiar with. (if you took advvanced math in hs you may remember the polar graph) What we are doing is changing the way the pixels are oriented, applying an effect to them in that new state, then will change the graphing method back.
Select Filter > Distort > Polar Coordinates.
Setting : Polar to Rectangular
Rotate your canvas to get your wind to orient correctly. Image > Rotate Canvas > 90 CW
Apply a wind to your active layer. Filter > Stylize > Wind.
Settings :
A little break in between. Your project should look something like this.
Apply wind a second time. Filter > Stylize > Wind
Adust the levelsby clicking Image > Adjust > Auto Levels
Click Image >Adjust >Invert
Apply wind a third time. Filter > Stylize > Wind
Apply wind a fourth and last time. Filter > Stylize > Wind
Rotate your canvas back to normal by clicking Image > Rotate Canvas > 90 CCW
Change your coordinates back by clicking Filter > Distort > Polar Coordinates.
Setting : Rectangular to Polar
On the layer panel Set Layer Mode to Hard Light.
Now it is time to colorize your image. Click Image > Adjust > Hue/Saturation.
Be sure to :
Check the "Colorize" checkbox and play with the settings of
Set saturations up to the top
Select the Hue of choice
set your saturation down to the level you want .
And you should get something like this
Clean Text
1. First, create an image about 300 x 100 pixels, and 72 pixels/inch. Select a foreground colour of #CACACA, and fill the image, to make the background this colour.
When you've filled the background, then select your text tool, and add the text you want to add, make the colour of the text close to #3F3F3F A darker grey. Once done, you should have something similar to the image below.

2. OK, now we can add the shadow. It is as easy as adding a layer effect, and can come in very usefull for other things too. Go to Blending Options (Right-click on text layer).
Use the options below, to get the effect. You can always play around a little with these, if it does not suit. (The colour used for the shadow is #8A8A8A)

So once you have that, just click OK, and you should get your final result. It's as easy as that!
When you've filled the background, then select your text tool, and add the text you want to add, make the colour of the text close to #3F3F3F A darker grey. Once done, you should have something similar to the image below.
2. OK, now we can add the shadow. It is as easy as adding a layer effect, and can come in very usefull for other things too. Go to Blending Options (Right-click on text layer).
Use the options below, to get the effect. You can always play around a little with these, if it does not suit. (The colour used for the shadow is #8A8A8A)
So once you have that, just click OK, and you should get your final result. It's as easy as that!
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)